top of page
Search

A Letter to Randy Park: Compassion and Appreciation for Asian Parents

Chloe Peng, Writer

Randy Park is the 23-year-old son of Hyun Jang Grant, one of the 8 victims of the recent Atlanta shooting. As the world mourns for the killed, Randy has brought viral attention to the perpetuated inhumane hate crimes that take place in American society through his instagram posts and GoFundMe page:

“She was a single mother who dedicated her whole life to providing for my brother and I. It is only my brother and I in the United States. The rest of my family is in South Korea and are unable to come. She was one of my best friends and the strongest influence on who we are today. Losing her has put a new lens on my eyes on the amount of hate that exists in our world.”


This racially motivated shooting struck fear into the Asian American community and painfully clarified the state of our country; America is in discriminatory turmoil and there is a definitive need to stop Anti-Asian racism now.


My working mom, who immigrated from China, never took a day off of work unless she was sick. She only comes home to cook and is rarely there to be a universal solace for me. But I know, even in the lack of her presence, she is living and working for me. Not herself. Coming home every day right before the clock hits 12 AM, she is always there at my door with a plate of cut-up fruit, hiding her exhaustion under a comforting and beaming smile. She eats my leftovers, hires the best coaches for my sport training, and leaves behind her entire family to raise me. So even when there are moments of frustrations on her unattainable expectations, I have always appreciated and understood her sacrifices and her absence as her way of saying ‘I love you.’

There is a reason why Asians feel deeply for Hyun Jang Grant, a single working mother who was killed in the Atlanta spa shootings. It is because she lived for her sons and did not get the chance to begin her life. She could not see her sacrifices being made worth it. I am so sorry Randy. I have so much compassion for you.

I have become scared for my mom’s safety, and it is heartbreaking to feel this way. Stop Asian hate. The violence against our community has been devastating against families. These crimes are only becoming more prevalent and will continue to illuminate the despicable and inhumane pillar of our society that is Asian hate unless we TAKE ACTION. It is an obligation to human decency.


How to Help:


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page